Seed counter:

 
Video

About the campaign

“Plant a Seed in Area C” is a campaign led by the Union of Agricultural Work Committees (UAWC) and designed for supporting Palestinian farmers in Area C. UAWC is facing a systematic incitement campaign against its work, and directed towards defacing the organization and stopping the support it receives from governments and organizations. The incitement campaign has been launched against UAWC due to the organization’s strategic role in supporting the resilience of Palestinian farmers against ongoing Israeli violations, its work against attempts to annex Area C as well as its land restoration projects in Area C.

What is requested from campaign supporters is planting a “moral” seed in Area C by utilizing a specific application on the campaign’s website through which trees or seeds can be chosen that Palestinian farmers will later plant in their lands. The supporters’ choices can also be shared on social media as a way of showing support for the campaign and its message. Additionally, the campaign’s link can be accessed for finding additional forms of supporting the campaign.

Union of Agricultural Work Committees

The Union of Agricultural Work Committees was established in 1986 by a group of farmers, agricultural engineers, leaders and young volunteers from the West Bank and the Gaza Strip. The union was formed as a first step towards fostering Palestinian farmers’ resilience in the face of the multiple challenges posed by the Israeli occupation, and its ongoing violations and violent policies. At its start, UAWC’s founders organized multiple volunteering campaigns dedicated towards assisting farmers in cultivating their crops. UAWC’s work later expanded, especially after the establishment of the Palestinian National Authority, and took a more organized and institutionalized form. The organization was officially registered according to Palestinian laws and guidelines, and began to implement various agricultural development projects aiming towards improving the economic and social conditions of Palestinian farmers, and to encourage collective, cooperative and participatory work.

On the local level, UAWC has become one of the most important influencers in the agricultural sector due to the significant and specialized experiences it has been cultivating for over 30 years and alongside 100 workers (specialized in the agricultural, water and environmental fields). UAWC is currently at the forefront of agricultural organizations given the organization’s size, its local presence, and the support it provides to over 30,000 farmers in the West Bank and the Gaza Strip. Internationally, and as part of its work to mobilize support for Palestinian farmers in the face of the Israeli occupation’s policies, UAWC has developed relations with multiple organizations, and has participated in hundreds of conventions and international tours.

UAWC has managed to influence the Palestinian government’s regulations and policies in favor of entrenching farmers’ rights. For instance, UAWC has succeeded in relieving farmers from paying the value-added tax (VAT) as a first step towards relieving them from other taxes levied by the government. UAWC has also managed to direct its work towards lands in Area C; the most marginalized and threatened areas in the occupied territories.

Additionally, UAWC has also been working with great dedication on establishing a compensation fund in order to protect farmers from damage due to natural disasters, and damage caused by the occupation and its settlers. The Palestinian government positively met UAWC’s push through a decision to establish a risk prevention and agricultural insurance fund.

The organization has also established the first Local Seed Bank for authentic and local seeds, and has managed to protect these seeds from the imminent danger posed by the introduction of non-local seeds by companies interested in profit and monopoly. Local seeds are considered as the sole source of vegetables and field crops for thousands of families. They are also the most important component of the Palestinian food chain, especially given that 90% of the West Bank’s farms rely on rain-fed agriculture. Today, following 15 years of ongoing work, the seed bank consists of 35 types of high quality local and authentic seeds.

The protection of local seeds by UAWC, considered as an important Palestinian heritage, has prevented severe economic loss and danger posed to the food security of thousands of families. It has also prevented the negligence of thousands of decares of land that would have undoubtedly made it more prone to confiscation by the Israeli occupation especially given that these lands are located in Area C.

In 2014, in recognition of its efforts towards combating poverty, UWAC received “The Arab Thought Award” for the most important development idea working to improve the economic situation of farmers. In the same year, UAWC received the United Nation’s “Equator Award” for the best idea to combat poverty. Additionally, in 2015, the organization won its third international award, “The Food Sovereignty Award,” for its work on entrenching the concepts of sovereignty over resources, and of combating monopoly.

UAWC continues its work directed towards supporting Palestinian farmers’ resilience, and combating the conditions of poverty under which hundreds of thousands of families live in the West Bank and the Gaza Strip. UAWC also continues to carry out its strategic development role in Area C that Israel seeks to annex.

It is for the work UAWC has done, and continues to carry out, as part of its broader mission and goals that official and non-official Israeli organizations are directing incitement campaigns to distort UAWC’s standing as an independent grass-root organization; to stop the funding it receives from international organization; and to continue implementing its policy of land annexation.

The Israeli incitement against the Union of Agricultural Work Committees

The Israeli government represented by its governmental and non-governmental institutions considers the Union of Agricultural Work Committee’s (UAWC) strategic and developmental role of supporting farmers’ resilience in area C and of afforestation of vast areas as a fundamental impediment of its plan to have full control over area C; to seize lands and expand settlement construction in the said areas. Therefore, since 2011, Israel has been conducting an ongoing extensive incitement campaign against UAWC relying on fabricated accusations in order to affect its funding sources, to delegitimize its international and legal standing, and work towards ceasing the organization’s work.

Right-wing extremist institutions such as NGO Monitor, Palestinian Media Watch, “Shurat HaDin” and settler associations such as “Regavim” incite governments and institutions to stop supporting UAWC accusing it of ties with “terrorism,” and of links with “terrorist organizations.” As a result, these baseless and dangerous accusations, had affected some of UAWC’s funders and some decided to cease funding (such as the Australian Government). In June 2018, the Israeli Ministry of Strategic Affairs published a “Hatred Network” report that incites against a number of Palestinian non-governmental organizations as well as international organizations and donors. These organizations and institutions were accused of supporting “terrorism” and boycott, among which were the European Union. These recent accusations are a reflection of previous incitement long led by the Israeli government and its institutions against UAWC.

On 5 July, 2017 Frederica Mogherini, EU’s High Representative for Foreign Affairs sent a letter to Gilad Erdan, Israel’s minister of Public Security and Strategic Affairs, accusing him of making unfounded and baseless accusations that the European Union’s funding to Palestinian organizations and institutions supports “incitement” and “terrorism.” Mogherini’s letter added that the Israeli accusations are “vague and unsubstantiated” and only serve disinformation campaigns.

The Union of Agricultural Work Committees is an independent agricultural and developmental organization characterized by its full political and religious neutrality, and fully adheres in its work to international law and standards especially the United Nation Security Council and General Assembly’s resolutions concerning Palestinian rights to freedom, development and life. UAWC also adheres to Palestinian laws and guidelines, and is registered as a civil agricultural institution according to the law of Palestinian NGOs and associations No. 1 of the year 2000. In addition, UAWC holds close ties with the Palestinian government and its relevant ministries, and with Palestinian and international development institutions. The organization also represents Palestine in the International Peasant’s Movement “La Via Campesina”.

The ongoing campaigns directed against UAWC must be challenged through increased support of farmers working and living in area C, and through supporting UAWC on both legal and media fronts as part of its work directed towards responding to Israeli incitement.

What else can I do to support the campaign?

  1. Send the campaign’s link to your contacts, and invite friends and colleagues to participate and plant a seed in Area C.
  2. Share the campaign’s materials that can be found on UAWC’s website
  3. Donate to UAWC and support its work.
  4. Participate in the afforestation campaign in Area C whose date will soon be released.
Local Seed Bank
In 2003, the Union of Agricultural Work Committees established the Palestinian local seed bank in order to protect local seeds as a source of natural wealth. The bank was established through collecting, documenting, improving, storing and increasing the quantities of local seeds. The bank also allows for the provision of local seeds as a source of food for the Palestinian community, and particularly for the poor and persons with limited income. The local seed bank has improved and increased the quantity of more than 40 types of vegetables, field crops and grains and is used by thousands of Palestinian farmers annually.

:عدّاد البذور

 
فيديو

عن الحملة

حملة "ازرع بذرة في منطقة ج" هي حملة دعم ومساندة للمزارعين الفلسطينيين في مناطق ج ولاتحاد لجان العمل الزراعي في فلسطين. يتعرّض اتحاد لجان العمل الزراعي إلى حملة تحريض إسرائيلية منهجيّة تهدف إلى تشويه صورته دوليًا ووقف الدعم الذي يحصل عليه من الحكومات والمؤسسات، بسبب دوره التنموي الإستراتيجي في تعزيز صمود المزارعين الفلسطينيّين واستصلاح الأراضي في مناطق ج التي يتعرض المزارعين فيها لانتهاكات واعتداءات من الجيش والمستوطنين، وتخطّط الحكومة الإسرائيلية بشكل واضح ومعلن إلى ضمّها .

المطلوب من داعمي الحملة هو زرع بذرة "معنوية" في مناطق ج، عن طريق تطبيق خاص في موقع الحملة يمكّن من اختيار إحدى الأشجار أو البذور التي يزرعها المزراع الفلسطينيّ في أرضه، ثمّ يُنشر عن الزرع في حساب الفيسبوك كتعبير عن الدعم ولإيصال رسالة الحملة. بالإضافة إلى زراعة البذرة المعنوية يمكن لداعمي الحملة المشاركة بطرق أخرى لدعم الحملة.

اتحاد لجان العمل الزراعي

في العام 1986 بادرت مجموعة المزارعين والمهندسين الزراعيين وقيادات المزارعين المحليّة والمتطوعين الشباب، من مناطق مختلفة في الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة، إلى تأسيس اتحاد لجان العمل الزراعي، بهدف تعزيز صمود المزارعين الفلسطينيين في وجه التحديات الكثيرة التي يضعها الاحتلال الإسرائيلي وانتهاكاته وسياساته. في البداية، قام المؤسسون بداية بتنظيم حملات تطوع كبيرة عملت على زراعة الأشجار ومساعدة المزارعين في قطاف زيتونهم ومحاصيلهم المختلفة، ثمّ توسّع إطار العمل، خصوصًا بعد تأسيس السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية، ليتخذ شكلاً أكثر تنظيمًا ومأسسة فتمّ تسجيل الاتحاد رسميًا، ويطوّر وينّفذ برامج زراعيّة تنمويّة مختلفة، هدفها تحسين ظروف الحياة الاقتصادية والاجتماعية للمزارعين الفلسطينيّين، وتحفّز على العمل الجماعي والتشاركي والتعاوني.

محليًا، بات اتحاد لجان العمل الزراعي أحد أهم اللاعبين الأكثر تأثيرًا في القطاع الزراعي بفضل الخبرات الكبيرة والمتخصصة والمتراكمة، على مدار أكثر من ثلاثين عامًا، لدى حوالي 100 من العاملين فيه في المجال (الزراعي والبيئي والمياه) حيث أصبح الاتحاد يتصدر قائمة المؤسسات العاملة في القطاع الزراعي من حيث الحجم، ومستوى الحضور المحلي، وحجم التدخلات المقدمة لأكثر من 30 الف مزارع ومزارعة في مختلف المناطق في الضفة وغزة.

دوليًا، نجح الاتحاد في تطوير علاقاته الدولية مع عدد كبير من المؤسسات الدولية، وشارك في مئات اللقاءات والمؤتمرات والجولات الدولية في أنحاء العالم في مسعى لحشد الدعم والتأييد لقضية المزارع الفلسطيني الذي يعاني من الفقر والظلم والانتهاكات التي يسببها الاحتلال، والذي تصادر أرضه منه بفعل الاستيطان الآخذ بالتوسع.

سجل للاتحاد أكثر من مرة نجاحًا في التأثير في السياسات الرسمية ذات العلاقة بالمزارعين وحقوقهم، فمثلا نجح الاتحاد مع عدد من المؤسسات الأخرى في الضغط على الحكومة من أجل إعفاء المزارعين من دفع ضريبة القيمة المضافة، كخطوة على طريق الإعفاء الكامل للقطاع الزراعي من كل أنواع الضرائب، كما نجح في توجيه العمل لتكون وجهته الأولى نحو المناطق الأكثر تهميشًا وتهديدًا وهي المصنفة "ج" .

على صعيد آخر أعطى الاتحاد أهمية كبيرة لمسألة وجود صندوق لتعويض المزراعين عن الأضرار التي قد تلحق بهم بفعل الكوارث الطبيعية أو تلك الناتجة عن الإحتلال ومستوطنيه، وقد توج هذا الجهد بقرار حكومي بإنشاء صندوق درء المخاطر والتأمينات الزراعية.

كما قام الاتحاد بإنشاء البنك الوطني الأول للبذور البلدية النقية والأصيلة ونجح بحمايتها وحفظها ومنعها من خطر محقّق عل، فبعد أن كانت البذور البلدية (المصدر الوحيد للخضروات والمحاصيل الحقلية لآلاف الأسر، وهي سلة الغذاء الأهم لنا خاصة وأن أكثر 90% من الأراضي في الضفة تزرع بعلاً) على وشك الاندثار والضياع بفعل إدخال أصناف غريبة عن طريق شركات بذور بهدف الربح والاحتكار. عمل الاتحاد لأكثر من 15 عامًا متواصلة في مجال تحسين وإكثار البذور البلدية. واليوم، يحتوي هذا البنك على 35 صنفًا من أصناف البذور البلدية المختلفة ذات الجودة العالية والصفات البلدية المتأقلمة والأصيلة. حماية هذه البذور، التي تعتبر من أهمّ الموروثات الطبيعية الفلسطينية، منع خسائر اقتصادية كبيرة وخطرًا على الأمن الغذائي لآلاف الأسر، وكان سيؤدي لترك عشرات الآلاف الدونمات دون زراعة، ما كان سيسهّل بشكل لا يقبل الشك عملية مصادرتها لا سيما وأن معظم هذه الأراضي تقع في مناطق "ج".

تقديرًا لجهود الاتحاد في مكافحة الفقر، من خلال المشاريع التنموية الرائدة، منح الاتحاد في العام 2014 جائزة الفكر العربي لأهم فكرة تنموية تهتم بحسين الظروف الاقتصادية للمزارعين، كذلك منح الاتحاد في العام 2014 جائزة خط الإستواء وهي جائزة دولية من الأمم المتحدة عن أفضل فكرة لمكافحة الفقر، فيما حصد الاتحاد الجائزة الدولية الثالثة في العام 2015 وهي جائزة السيادة على الغذاء عن عمله في تعزيز مفهوم السيادة على الموارد والغذاء ومحاربة كل أشكال الاحتكار، حيث سلمت له الجائزة في احتفالية كبيرة في واشنطن.

يستمر اتحاد لجان العمل الزراعي في تعزيز صمود المزارعين الفلسطينيّين وفي مكافحة الفقر الذي تعاني منه مئات آلاف الأسر الفلسطينيّة في الضفة الغربيّة وغزة، وبأخذ دوره التنموي الاستراتيجي في مناطق ج التي تسعى إسرائيل إلى ضمّها، لذلك تُنظّم جهات إسرائيلية رسمية وغير رسمية حملة تحريضية ممنهجة ضده لتشويه سمعته كمؤسسة قاعدية مستقلة بهدف وقف التمويل الذي يحصل عليه من المؤسسات الدولية لتسهيل تنفيذ مخططات الضمّ.

عن التحريض الإسرائيليّ على اتحاد لجان العمل الزراعي

تعتبر الحكومة الإسرائيليّة، بأذرعها الرسمية وغير الرسمية، الدور التنمويّ الاستراتيجيّ الذي يقوم به اتحاد لجان العمل الزراعيّ في دعم صمود المزارعين الفلسطينيّين في مناطق ج، وزرعه وتشجيره لمساحات واسعة من الأراضي الفلسطينيّة، معيقًا أساسيًا لمخطط إحكام سيطرتها الكاملة على مناطق ج ومصادرة هذه الأراضي وتوسيع الاستيطان فيها. لذلك، تقوم منذ عام 2011 بشنّ حملات تحريض متواصلة ومكثّفة على الاتحاد، مستخدمة افتراءات واتهامات لا أساس لها من الصحة، بهدف تجفيف مصادر تمويل الاتحاد وتجريم عمله ونزع شرعيته القانونيّة والدوليّة ووقف عمله.

تقوم مؤسسات يمينيّة متطرفة، تتخصّص بالتحريض على الجمعيّات الأهليّة الفلسطينيّة مثل NGO Monitor  و Palestinian Media Watch و"شورات هدين"، وجمعيّات استيطانية مثل "ريجافيم"، بتحريض الحكومات والمؤسّسات التي تدعم الاتحاد بوقف دعمها متهمة إياه بدعم "الإرهاب" والارتباط بمنظمات "إرهابيّة"! لا أقل ولا أكثر. هذه الاتهامات الخطيرة، وما فيها من تزوير  وكذب وافتراءات وتكرار، أدت إلى التشويش الفعلي على بعض الداعمين، وفي بعض الحالات إلى وقف التمويل (مثل الحكومة الأسترالية). مؤخرًا، قامت وزارة الشؤون الإستراتيجيّة الإسرائيليّة، في حزيران 2018، بنشر تقرير تحت عنوان "شبكة الكراهية"، يتضمّن تحريضًا على عشرات الجمعيّات الأهليّة الفلسطينيّة والمؤسسات والصناديق الدوليّة الداعمة، من بينها الاتحاد الأوروبي، يتهمها جميعها بدعم "الإرهاب" و"المقاطعة"، ويكرّر هذا التقرير نفس التحريض السابق على اتحاد لجان العمل الزراعي.   

لقد جاء في رسالة وجهتها وزيرة خارجية الاتحاد الأوروبي، فيديريكا موغريني، في الخامس من تموز الماضي، على إثر هذا التقرير المضلّل، إلى وزير الأمن الداخلي الشؤون الإستراتيجيّة الإسرائيليّ، غلعاد اردان، ردًا على ادعاءاته بتمويل الاتحاد الاوروبي لأنشطة ارهابية عبر تمويل جمعيات ومنظمات مدنية بأنّ هذه الاتهامات على "لا أساس لها من الصحة وغير مقبولة، والتقرير نفسه غير مناسب ومضلل...الاتهامات غامضة وغير مثبتة ولا تخدم سوى حملات التضليل".

إنّ اتحاد لجان العمل الزراعيّ هو مؤسسة تنموية زراعية تتمتع باستقلالية تامة، وتتميّز بحيادها السياسي والديني الكامل، ويستند في عمله الى المعايير والقوانين الدولية، وبشكل خاص قرارات مجلس الأمن والجمعية العامة للأمم المتحدة المتعلقة بحق الانسان الفلسطيني بالحرية والتنمية والحياة، ويعمل كذلك وفق الأنظمة والقوانين المقرة من قبل  السلطة الوطنية الفلسطينية، إذ أنّ الاتحاد مسجل كمؤسسة زراعية أهلية وفق قانون الجمعيات والمنظمات الأهلية الفلسطينية رقم 1 لعام 2000، وتربطه علاقات وثيقة مع الحكومة الفلسطينة ووزارتها ذات الصلة بعمله، ومع العشرات من المؤسسات التنموية الفلسطينة والدولية، كما أنه يمثل فلسطين في حركة طريق الفلاحين الدولية "لا فياكمبسينا".

إن إفشال حملات التحريض يكون بالمزيد من الدعم للمزارعين الفلسطينيّين في مناطق ج، الدعم المعنويّ والتنمويّ، وبمساندة اتحاد لجان العمل الزراعي إعلاميًا وحقوقيًا في تصدّيه لهذه الحملة التحريضيّة المتواصلة

كيف يمكنني أن أدعم الحملة أيضًا؟

  1. أرسل رابط الحملة إلى قائمة بريدك الإلكتروني وادعو أصدقائك وزملائك للمشاركة فيها وزرع بذرة في مناطق ج.
  2. شارك بمواد الحملة المنشورة على صفحة اتحاد لجان العمل الزراعي وانشرها قدر المستطاع.
  3. تبرّع لاتحاد لجان العمل الزراعيّ وادعم عمله.
بنك البذور البلديّة
في العام 2003، أنشأ اتحاد لجان العمل الزراعي بنك للبذور البلديّة الفلسطينيّة، بهدف حمايتها كثروة طبيعيّة، من خلال جمعها، وتوثيقها، وتحسين سلالاتها، وزيادة كمياتها، وحفظها، وإتاحتها كمصدر للغذاء للمجتمع الفلسطينيّ وخصوصًا للفقراء منهم وذوي الدخل المحدود. قام بنك البذور البلديّة بعملية إكثار وتحسين لأكثر من 40 صنف ما بين محاصيل الخضراوات والمحاصيل الحقلية والحبوب، ويستفيد منه آلاف المزارعين الفلسطينيّين سنويًا.